The Federal Cabinet’s Committee on Energy was informed that the fines for licensees in the Oil Marketing Companies have been revised and that the maximum fine for serious violations has been placed from 10 million to 500 million rupees.

On Thursday, a meeting of the Cabinet Committee was held here, chaired by the Federal Minister for Planning, Development and Special Initiatives, Asad Umar. The Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority (OGRA) provided an overview of the situation with the rules on fines and penalties.

The meeting was informed about the imposition of fines on licensees for non-compliance with license terms and violation of OGRA rules. Revised fines for licensees in the oil value chain.

The maximum fine for serious violations is Rs 10 to 500 million. I have instructed the CCV to consider additional measures against illegal exploitation and fraud of licensees. OGRA orders to send the summary to the Department of the Cabinet of Ministers within two weeks for amendments as soon as possible.

OGRA also presented a report on the creation of a monitoring system for the sale of petroleum products.

CCoE instructed OGRA to implement comprehensive automation and digitization of reporting to ensure that all future events are recorded and accurate data collection is achieved.

Petroleum and OGRA are jointly developing a strategy to automate data collection and digitize transactions throughout the value chain. The Petroleum Department presented the expected situation with supply and demand for natural gas for the coming winter season.

During the meeting, Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) also shared a monthly supply and demand scenario for the northern part of the country. At an upcoming meeting, the CCE tasked the oil division with providing a detailed analysis of the impact of various policy options on the development of a gas load management plan for the 2021-2022 winter season.

The meeting was attended by the Federal Minister of Energy, Minister of Maritime Affairs, Minister of Science and Technology, Adviser to the Prime Minister for Trade and Industry, President of OGRA, President of NEPRA, regulators and senior government officials / departments.

The following two tabs change content below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here